Reflexive Pronouns

Reflexive pronouns digunakan untuk merujuk kepada subject sebuah kalimat yang melakukan sesuatu kepada subject itu sendiri.

Kata yang termasuk reflexive pronouns yaitu:

  • Singular: myself, yourself, himself, herself, itself
  • Plural: ourselves, yourselves, themselves

Contoh:

I saw myself in the mirror.
(myself merujuk kepada I, Aku melihat diriku sendiri)

Widya still does not trust herself.
(herself merujuk kepada Widya, Widya tidak percaya sama dirinya sendiri)

  1. I hurt myself.
  2. I really hurt myself this morning when I fell down the stairs.
  3. Teguh hurt himself while he was fixing his car.
  4. He hurt himself on the rusty nail and had to get a shot.
  5. He hurt himself playing hockey.
  6. Dian hurt herself.
  7. My dog hurt itself.
  8. Don’t touch that electric wire. You will hurt yourself.
  9. I enjoyed myself at the concert.
  10. She enjoyed herself at the party.
  11. We enjoyed ourselves during the picnic.
  12. I made myself a sandwich.
  13. You can make yourselves at home.
  14. My brother made himself some dinner.
  15. She made herself a pullover.
  16. She made herself a cup of tea and sat down in front of the television.
  17. We ate so much turkey and pumpkin pie that we made ourselves sick.
  18. We do not always make ourselves practice what we preach.
  19. I bought myself a new pair of sunglasses for our trip to the beach.
  20. Wira bought himself a shirt.
  21. Ratie bought herself a new pair of shoes.
  22. She bought herself a new purse for her new job.
  23. The queen bought herself a dog.
  24. You should buy yourself a new computer.
  25. At 12.30, Ratih and I went to the cafeteria to buy ourselves some lunch.
  26. We bought ourselves pretzels at the fair.
  27. My sister and I bought ourselves popcorn at the movie.
  28. You can help yourselves to drinks.
  29. Can you help yourselves?
  30. Krisna blames himself.
  31. He blames himself for the accident.
  32. Why do you blame yourself?
  33. We blame ourselves.
  34. We blame ourselves for the results of the election.
  35. They blame themselves for the accident, because they didn’t pay attention to road signs.
  36. Parents often blame themselves for the way their children behave.
  37. I saw myself reflected in her eyes.
  38. I saw myself as a famous actor.
  39. When I saw myself in the mirror, I realized that I had paint on my cheek.
  40. When I saw myself in the mirror, I was horrified, there was red paint on my nose!
  41. The puppy saw itself in the mirror.
  42. It saw itself in the mirror.
  43. What happens when a fighting fish sees itself in the mirror?
  44. She looks at herself in the mirror.
  45. She looked at herself in the mirror for hours.
  46. She looked at herself in the bathroom mirror.
  47. The girl looked at herself in the mirror.
  48. They cannot look after themselves.
  49. Iman sent himself a copy.
  50. Dyota sent herself a copy.
  51. He cut himself on the broken glass.
  52. Anna accidentally cut herself.
  53. You cut yourself while cutting tomatoes.
  54. He accidentally cut himself while he was chopping the vegetables.
  55. I gave myself 12 weeks to get in shape.
  56. I gave myself plenty of time to get to work.
  57. The cat gave itself a bath.
  58. The girls gave themselves enough time to finish the project.
  59. I will give myself five days to finish that job.
  60. Della and her husband own their own company, so they can give themselves a holiday any time they like.
  61. We treated ourselves to a night on the town.
  62. We treated ourselves to pizza.
  63. They cannot help themselves.
  64. You helped yourselves to more ice cream.
  65. You may help yourself to any of the snacks on the table.
  66. You fellows can help yourselves to the drinks.
  67. We helped ourselves to the free drinks at the launch party.
  68. Would you like to help yourself to another drink?
  69. We asked ourselves if the new system would actually work.
  70. We often ask ourselves why we left London.
  71. Have you asked yourselves why you are here?
  72. My grandmother is no longer able to feed herself, so I help her.
  73. Can you feed yourselves?
  74. The soccer team decided to call themselves the Viking.
  75. The band call themselves “Electric”.
  76. I taught myself how to speak English, I never had a teacher.
  77. I taught myself to play the guitar.
  78. We taught ourselves French.
  79. I used a video to teach myself how to knit.
  80. Did you take a class in engineering, or did you teach yourself?
  81. Can I ask you a question, Adji? Did you go to classes to learn German, or did you teach yourself?
  82. The dog scratched itself.
  83. The dog had fleas and was scratching itself the whole day!
  84. The dog is scratching itself, it must have fleas!
  85. They think of themselves as upstanding members of the community.
  86. Adit promised himself to work harder next semester.
  87. Misbah promised herself a reward for her hard work.
  88. My cat always licks itself.
  89. One of the dogs spent hours licking itself.
  90. The terrorist shot himself.
  91. He shot himself.
  92. I was in a hurry, so I washed the car myself.
  93. Look! There’s a little bird washing itself in the river.
  94. I like myself.
  95. I cannot bring myself to do it.
  96. I burnt myself on the stove this morning.
  97. I often quote myself. It adds spice to my conversation.
  98. I introduced myself to my new neighbor.
  99. I consider myself fortunate to have escaped before the house collapsed.
  100. I had to content myself with a few Euros.
  101. If you don’t know what is wrong with yourself, then ask a doctor.
  102. You shall love your neighbor as yourself.
  103. You should let yourself into the house.
  104. When you save money in the bank, it’s like you are paying yourself.
  105. Kaisar e-mailed himself a copy of the report.
  106. He has landed himself in great trouble.
  107. If he wasn’t always pushing himself at the gym, he wouldn’t be so buff.
  108. He tried to be himself and not be like Michael Jackson all the time
  109. He found himself lying by the side of the road.
  110. He busied himself in the kitchen.
  111. She applied herself to the job of mending the lights.
  112. Because she wanted to be like her sister, Tri forced herself to practice each day.
  113. She cooked herself a quiche.
  114. She baked herself a birthday cake.
  115. She thumped herself.
  116. The old woman poisoned herself.
  117. Maya poured herself a glass of milk.
  118. The parrot admired itself in the mirror for several hours each day.
  119. The kitten groomed itself.
  120. The cat chocked itself.
  121. A house divided against itself cannot stand.
  122. The television uses a timer to turn itself off after one hour.
  123. Without strong steel architecture, the building would collapse in on itself.
  124. We often deceive ourselves.
  125. The students are able to monitor themselves.
  126. The boys hid themselves.
  127. The boys hid themselves behind the door.
  128. They believed in themselves.
  129. They have got themselves into a mess.
  130. Some people are so full of themselves.
  131. They injured themselves during the rugby match.
  132. The new robotic toys can put themselves away.
  133. They used to camera on the cell phone to take pictures of themselves.
  134. The members argued among themselves for an hour.
  135. The jurors could not agree among themselves.
  136. They spent some time familiarizing themselves with the new workplace.
  137. Some animals protect themselves through camouflage.
  138. The players prepared themselves by staying in shape.
  139. They managed themselves very well as members of the conference panel.
  140. The accountants perjured themselves when testifying before Congress.
  141. I wish the children would behave themselves.
  142. We forfeit three-fourths of ourselves in order to be like other people. (Arthur Schopenhauer, 1788-1860)
  143. If the world should blow itself up, the last audible voice would be that of an expert saying it can’t be done. (Peter Ustinov, 1921-2004)
  144. If history repeats itself, and the unexpected always happens, how incapable must man be of learning from experience. (George Bernard Shaw, 1856-1950)
  145. Certain tomopterid worms defend themselves by squirting out a bioluminescent fluid. (Bruce Robison, “Light in the Ocean’s Midwaters,” Scientific American)

Berdasarkan letaknya, reflexive pronouns bisa diletakkan sebagai direct object, indirect object atau preposition object.

Contoh reflexive pronouns sebagai direct object:

  1. I am teaching myself to play the piano.
  2. I pinched myself to see whether it was a dream.
  3. He saw himself in the mirror and was shocked.
  4. He shot himself in the head.
  5. Be careful with that knife. You might cut yourself.

Contoh reflexive pronouns sebagai indirect object:

  1. I bought myself a slice of cake.
  2. He made himself coffee.
  3. Would you like to pour yourself a drink.
  4. We’ve brought ourselves something to eat.

Contoh reflexive pronouns sebagai object of a preposition (to, for, by, dll):

  1. He gave the present to himself.
  2. Bhuana read quietly to himself.
  3. Anindya read to herself.
  4. He spoke to himself.
  5. I talk to myself when I am nervous or excited.
  6. Budi is a bit crazy. He always sits alone and talks to himself.
  7. That man is talking to himself.
  8. The man talked to himself as he walked down the street.
  9. Are you talking to yourself?
  10. She likes to look at the mirror and smile to herself.
  11. The young girl was singing happily to herself.
  12. I whistled to myself to calm down.
  13. Sometimes I think to myself that it is time to lose some weight.
  14. You should address the letter to yourself.
  15. You often talk to yourself and nobody knows what you talk about.
  16. She bought a present for herself.
  17. She had to cook for herself.
  18. They had to cook for themselves.
  19. We had to cook for ourselves since mom didn’t want to make dinner.
  20. He was feeling very sorry for himself.
  21. I bought a present for myself.
  22. When you go shopping for me, buy a present for yourself.
  23. She did it by herself.
  24. We thought to ourselves, this has been the best day we have ever spent together!

Reflexive Pronouns memiliki nilai yang penting di dalam kalimat sehingga jika di dalam kalimat yang ada reflexive pronouns-nya dihilangkan reflexive pronouns-nya maka kalimat tersebut akan memiliki makna dan arti yang berbeda dengan sebelum dihilangkan reflexive pronouns-nya. Contoh:

  • I hurt myself (Aku melukai diriku sendiri)
  • I hurt (makna kalimat tidak jelas)
  • He made himself coffee (Dia membuat coffee yang sudah pasti untuk dirinya sendiri)
  • He made coffee (Dia yang membuat coffe namun tidak pasti untuk siapa dia membuat coffe)

Kata preposition by + reflexive pronoun digunakan untuk menunjukkan bahwa seseorang melakukan sebuah kegiatan sendiri atau tanpa bantuan orang lain:

  1. She lives by herself.
  2. He lived by himself in an enormous house.
  3. Indrawan went to the party by himself.
  4. I went to the USA by myself.
  5. You go to the movies by yourself.
  6. You are too young to go out by yourselves.
  7. Why don’t you go by yourself?
  8. She likes to go on holiday by herself.
  9. He ate dinner by himself.
  10. You ate all of the ice cream by yourselves.
  11. She walked home by herself.
  12. You can walk to school by yourself.
  13. I prepared the whole meal by myself.
  14. The children got dressed by themselves.
  15. I did my homework by myself.
  16. She fixed her car by herself.
  17. It got its food out of the cupboard by itself.
  18. We ruined everything by ourselves.
  19. They painted the house by themselves.
  20. He made breakfast all by himself.
  21. The children made the entire meal by themselves.
  22. She created all the Christmas decorations by herself.

Reflexive pronouns tidak bisa digunakan setelah kata feel, meet, concentrate dan relax. Selain itu, reflexive pronouns biasanya tidak digunakan setelah verb yang memiliki makna kegiatan yang sering atau biasa dilakukan untuk dirinya sendiri seperti wash, shave dan dress kecuali benar-benar diperlukan untuk memperjelas atau memberi penekanan siapa yang melakukan aksi. Contoh:

  1. He cannot relax – correct
  2. He cannot relax himself – incorrect
  3. He washed in cold water – correct
  4. He washed himself in cold water – incorrect
  5. I washed clean in the bathtub – correct
  6. I washed myself clean in the bathtub – incorrect
  7. After I got up, I washed – correct
  8. After I got up, I washed myself – incorrect
  9. He always shaved before going out in the evening – correct
  10. He always shaved himself before going out in the evening – incorrect
  11. Iesa dressed and got ready for the party – correct
  12. Iesa dressed himself and got ready for the party – incorrect
  13. I dressed this morning – correct
  14. I dressed myself this morning – incorrect
  15. My daughter likes to dress without my help – correct
  16. My daughter likes to dress herself without my help – incorrect
  17. The little girl learned how to dress for school – correct
  18. The little girl learned how to dress herself for school – incorrect
  19. The children are able to dress – correct
  20. The children are able to dress themselves – incorrect

Reflexive pronouns tidak diperlukan di dalam sebuah kalimat jika kalimat tersebut sudah memiliki makna reflexive:

  • I took my mother with me – correct
  • I took my mother with myself – incorrect

Reflexive pronouns tidak digunakan setelah place preposition, namun menggunakan personal pronouns. Contoh:

  • He put the backpack next to him – correct
  • He put the backpack next to himself – incorrect

Baca juga Intensive Pronouns

Leave a Reply

