Possessive Pronouns (Kata Ganti Kepemilikan)

Possessive pronouns adalah pronouns (kata ganti) yang digunakan untuk menunjukkan kepunyaan atau kepemilikan.

Penggunaan possessive pronouns tergantung dari beberapa hal, diantaranya yaitu:

  • Possessive pronouns sebagai singular atau plural
  • Possessive pronouns sebagai pengganti orang laki-laki atau perempuan
  • Possessive pronouns sebagai pengganti orang pertama, kedua atau ketiga

Berikut ini adalah daftar kata possessive pronouns:

Orang Jumlah Kelamin Personal Pronouns
Orang Pertama Singular Laki-laki/Perempuan mine
Orang kedua Singular Laki-laki/Perempuan yours
Orang ketiga Singular Laki-laki his
Orang ketiga Singular Perempuan hers
Orang pertama Plural Laki-laki/Perempuan ours
Orang kedua Plural Laki-laki/Perempuan yours
Orang ketiga Plural Laki-laki/Perempuan theirs

Contoh:

  1. His car is faster than mine.
  2. I like your flowers. Do you like mine?
  3. Is that your scarf? It’s very similar to mine.
  4. If the books belong to me, they are my books. They are mine.
  5. Look at these pictures. Mine is the small one.
  6. Priska’s car is red. Mine is green.
  7. Ranggi has already eaten her lunch , but I’m saving mine until later.
  8. The cat is mine.
  9. This is my laptop. It’s mine.
  10. This is my bedroom. It’s mine.
  11. This sandwich is mine but you can have it.
  12. Tya has eaten her lunch already, but I’m saving mine until later.
  13. You can’t have any chocolate! It’s mine!
  14. You can’t have any chocolate! It’s all mine!
  15. Your computer is a Mac, but mine is a PC.
  16. Each couple’s books are colour-coded. Yours are green.
  17. I know this drink is yours but I need to drink something.
  18. I don’t like this family’s garage but I like yours.
  19. I looked everywhere for your passport. I found Zulfikar’s passport but I couldn’t find yours.
  20. If the house belongs to you, it is your house. It is yours.
  21. My computer is a Mac, but yours is a PC.
  22. My flowers are dying. Yours are lovely.
  23. My pencil is broken. Can I borrow yours?
  24. Our car is cheap, but yours is expensive.
  25. The cat is yours.
  26. Their father gets along well with yours.
  27. This book is mine, not yours.
  28. These glasses are mine, not yours.
  29. The kids are yours and mine.
  30. These grammar books are different. Yours has 278 pages, but mine has only 275.
  31. What’s mine is yours, my friend.
  32. All the essays were good but his was the best.
  33. If the watch belongs to him, it is his watch. It is his.
  34. My telephone is out of order, but his is working.
  35. My mobile needs to be fixed, but his is working.
  36. This is my sister’s car. It’s his.
  37. This is my brother’s bike. It’s his.
  38. The book next to the window is his.
  39. The car over there is his, but this one right here is mine.
  40. Asri finished her homework early, but Putu did not do hers until later.
  41. Dian likes to wear her hair short, while Dini prefers to wear hers long.
  42. I think the cheese cookies at the party were hers.
  43. I didn’t have my umbrella so Rina lent me hers.
  44. If the flowers belong to her, they are her flowers. They are hers.
  45. It was his fault not hers.
  46. Retno found his ticket but Dita couldn’t find hers.
  47. That laptop is hers.
  48. The pencil is hers.
  49. The table belongs to my mother. It is hers.
  50. They say female canaries can’t sing. Well, hers can.
  51. Here is your bike. Ours is over there, where we left it.
  52. If the car belongs to us, it is our car. It is ours.
  53. That food is ours and not theirs.
  54. The car on the corner is ours.
  55. This is our car. It’s ours.
  56. This is our house. It’s ours.
  57. We shall finally have what is rightfully ours.
  58. We cherish our friends not for their ability to amuse us, but for ours to amuse them. (Evelyn Waugh, 1903-1966)
  59. Your photos are good. Ours are terrible.
  60. Danang and Winda don’t like your car. Do you like theirs?
  61. Humans are the only animals that have children on purpose with the exception of guppies, who like to eat theirs. (P J O’Rourke)
  62. If the car belongs to them, it is their car. It is theirs.
  63. That’s not their house. Theirs has got a blue front door.
  64. These aren’t Arief and Bening’s children. Theirs have black hair.
  65. Theirs are in the garden.
  66. The laptop is theirs.
  67. The money was really theirs for the taking.
  68. The house is theirs and its paint is flaking.
  69. We gave them our telephone number, and they gave us theirs.

Selain untuk menunjukkan kepunyaan, possessive pronouns berguna untuk menghindari pengulangan informasi sehingga kalimat menjadi lebih sederhana dan jelas. Contoh:

  • This is my cat, not your cat (Ini adalah kucing punyaku, bukan kucing milikmu – kalimat terkesan diulang-ulang)
  • This cat is mine, not yours (Ini adalah kucing punyaku, bukan milikmu – Kalimat lebih sederhana)
  • Your car is a lot faster than my car
  • Your car is a lot faster than mine
  • I didn’t have my book so Widya lent me her book
  • I didn’t have my book, so Widya lent me hers
  • Is that Wira’s car? No, it’s my car
  • Is that Wira’s car? No, it’s mine
  • Whose coat is this? Is it your coat?
  • Whose coat is this? Is it yours?
  • Her coat is black, my coat is brown
  • Her coat is black, mine is brown

Dalam beberapa kasus, possessive adjectives dapat disebut juga sebagai possessive pronouns.

Posessive adjectives (kata keterangan kepemilikan) adalah adjectives yang berguna untuk memberi keterangan mengenai kepunyaan atau kepemilikan. Di dalam kalimat, posessive adjective diletakkan sebelum noun (kata benda) untuk menunjukkan kepunyaan siapa noun tersebut.

Kata yang termasuk possessive adjectives yaitu: my, your, his, her, its, our, their.

Pronouns adalah kata yang mengganti nouns. Karena possessive adjectives bisa juga mengganti nouns maka possessive adjectives juga bisa digolongkan sebagai pronouns dan karena possessive adjectives juga memiliki makna kepemilikan maka possessive adjectives bisa juga disebut sebagai possessive pronouns.

Contoh 1:

This is Oktasari’s hat.

This is her hat. (Pada contoh terlihat possessive adjectives her mengganti kata Oktasari yang merupakan sebuah noun. Oleh karena itu, possessive adjective her disebut juga pronouns. Karena  possessive adjective her juga memiliki makna kepemilikan maka possessive adjective her bisa juga disebut sebagai possessive pronouns).

This hat is hers. (Pada contoh terlihat possessive pronoun hers mengganti kata Oktasari’s hat).

Contoh 2:

Take Maya’s car to the concert.

Take her car to the concert. (Pada contoh terlihat possessive adjective her mengganti kata Maya yang merupakan sebuah noun. Oleh karena itu, possessive adjective her disebut juga possessive pronouns).

Take hers to the concert. (Pada contoh terlihat possessive pronoun hers mengganti kata Maya’s car)

Possessive pronouns dapat digunakan setelah kata of:

  • Dian is one of my friends (possessive adjective).
  • Dian is a friend of mine (possessive pronouns).
  • Dian is a friend of me (kalimat tidak benar).
  • I am one of Dian’s friends (possessive nouns).
  • I am a friend of Dian’s (possessive nouns).
  • I am a friend of Dian. (kalimat tidak benar)
Leave a Reply

